Port Browning to E dock

The forecast was for not much wind and it was accurate. I was heading towards Portland and then have a short trip  the next day back to E dock, but it was crowded so I just carried on back to E dock to do some chores.

On the way out of Port Browning I watched an eagle trying to capture a canada goose. The goose would dive under when the eagle swooped in; i didn’t know geese would dive under like a duck. This went on for about 5 minutes until the rest of the Canada geese swam over. The larger number put off the eagle and he retreated.

July 14-18:

Not much to report but :
    traced wiring to find out why the engine can start with DC switch in OFF. The boat was wired oddly and has a direct connection to main battery rather than through the switch.
    another holy mess getting the new,auxillary hour meter installed. I put this in the head along with the solar controller for easier reading. I have made some videos of this and other stuff which I will post once i am back.
    upside to the mess is that i had to empty the aft locker as part of the process and found the dry bag that I had cleverly used to store the safety jack lines, harnesses and tethers… on of my sleepless nights i was trying to figure out where i had put them and decided I must have left them in storage…….
    I can now report that the aft locker which looks small has room to spare after putting in the following:
    3 100\’ coils of double braid line
    2 100\’ coils of 3 strand
    4 spare 3 strand dock lines [ winter size]
    dry bag with safety lines/harness/tethers
    deck brush
    power cord
    water hose
    150\’ of aft anchor rode
   

Leave a comment